Skip Navigation
(0) My Trip Planner
email print

Carnegie Mellon University Philharmonic

Submit Event Upload
  • September 17, 2017 - September 17, 2017
  • Location: Carnegie Music Hall, Oakland
  • Address: 4400 Forbes Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
  • Times: 7:30 PM
  • Admission: $5-$10
  • 412-268-2383

Conducted by Andrés Cárdenes, Music Director of Orchestral Studies at CMU School of Music, the 2017-18 CMU Philharmonic concert season opens with Dvořák’s exuberant Carnival Overture with its exploding bars, this piece sets the tone for the upcoming season. Featured on the program is Alicia Venables, the graduate student winner of the 2017 School of Music Concerto Competition, performing Chausson’s Poème, an intricate and stunning violin solo. The concert concludes with Dvořák’s Symphony No. 7 in D minor with its rich and moving melodic lines. REPERTOIRE: Dvořák Carnival Overture, Op. 92 Chausson Poème Dvořák Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70, B. 141 COST: $10 Regular Admission $5 Senior Citizen (65+) Admission Tickets available at: All students are free w/ valid ID. Present ID at CMU School of Music box office. Box office opens one hour prior to performance in the lobby.

Loading Map