Knowing and Naming: Abstraction Beyond Reality

For over a century, artists have turned to both materials and abstraction—and away from “realism”—to comprehend the nature of reality.

2022 1 Jul
recurring event
  • Admission:
    FREE
  • Location:
    The Westmoreland Museum of American Art
  • 221 N. Main St.
  • 15601, Pennsylvania 15601
On view in the Post-1950s Gallery

For over a century, artists have turned to both materials and abstraction—and away from “realism”—to comprehend the nature of reality. The concept of taking something nonrepresentational and naming it after something “real” unites the works in Knowing and Naming: Abstraction Beyond Reality. In each case, meaning is complicated, expanded, or deepened by the work’s title. Though they reference time, travel, spirituality, and vision, in the end, they illustrate the difference between knowing something and knowing its name.

The exhibition features work by Richard B. Beaman | Albert Bierstadt | Jane Haskell | John McCracken | Melissa Meyer | Thaddeus Mosely | Larry Poons | Mark Tobey | Russell Twiggs
All exhibitions are supported by the Hillman Exhibition Fund of The Westmoreland Museum of American Art. Free admission to exhibitions is generously supported by UPMC Health Plan.

Upcoming Dates For This Event:

  • Friday, July 1
  • Saturday, July 2
  • Sunday, July 3
  • Wednesday, July 6
  • Thursday, July 7
  • Friday, July 8
  • Saturday, July 9
  • Sunday, July 10
  • Wednesday, July 13
  • Thursday, July 14
  • Friday, July 15
  • Saturday, July 16
  • Sunday, July 17
  • Wednesday, July 20
  • Thursday, July 21
  • Friday, July 22
  • Saturday, July 23
  • Sunday, July 24
  • Wednesday, July 27
  • Thursday, July 28
  • Friday, July 29
  • Saturday, July 30
  • Sunday, July 31
  • Wednesday, August 3
  • Thursday, August 4
  • Friday, August 5
  • Saturday, August 6
  • Sunday, August 7
  • Wednesday, August 10
  • Thursday, August 11
  • Friday, August 12
  • Saturday, August 13
  • Sunday, August 14
  • Wednesday, August 17
  • Thursday, August 18
  • Friday, August 19
  • Saturday, August 20
  • Sunday, August 21
  • Wednesday, August 24
  • Thursday, August 25
  • Friday, August 26
  • Saturday, August 27
  • Sunday, August 28
  • Wednesday, August 31
  • Thursday, September 1
  • Friday, September 2
  • Saturday, September 3
  • Sunday, September 4
  • Wednesday, September 7
  • Thursday, September 8
  • Friday, September 9
  • Saturday, September 10
  • Sunday, September 11
  • Wednesday, September 14
  • Thursday, September 15
  • Friday, September 16
  • Saturday, September 17
  • Sunday, September 18
  • Wednesday, September 21
  • Thursday, September 22
  • Friday, September 23
  • Saturday, September 24
  • Sunday, September 25